top of page
  • Writer's pictureKEW Interiors

5 Current Interior Favourites

Updated: Aug 9, 2021

Within Interiors, trends are constantly changing and evolving. In a never-ending cycle of new trends, it’s hard to narrow down my personal favourites to just 5 but regardless, here are my current favourites. Enjoy!


 

Sage


The colour sage is not limited to interiors; in fact, it could be argued this colour holds more prominence within the world of fashion. Sage is a light and gentle shade of green that brings a sense of calm and comfort into the home, whether it be through smaller décor details or a wall colour. Whilst the colour is gaining popularity this Summer, A/W 21/22 is when this colour will bloom according to WGSN’s ‘Buyers’ Briefing for A/W 21/22’. (Read More Here) The trend report states: “Sage in particular delivers tranquillity, as Pinterest reports a 105% YoY increase in the UK in searches for ‘sage green’ interiors.”









Source: 1 2



Clashing Patterns


As someone who had a strictly white, neutral palette for my interiors in the past few years, my love for clashing patterns is perhaps the most surprising favourite for me. Alongside bold, vibrant colours, patterns are something I have enjoyed exploring recently and pairing them with a ‘clashing’ pattern is a way I have let out my creativity, from my love of art, within my interiors.


Patterns I am particularly drawn to are not the well-known spots and stripes, but patterns of brushstrokes, layered shapes, repeated illustrations, florals and many more. The bolder the better!





Source 1 2




Art Prints and Posters


Not a trend, simply a decoration choice. As a teenager, I would display enough posters and pictures to cover entire walls, noted that at that time these were posters of my favourite bands, quotes and celebrities I adored at the time. After going through a period of preferring framed pictures only deeming posters too messy for the look I was going for, I rediscovered my love for plastering images and artwork I loved on the walls. Buying from smaller businesses, especially ones that create art, is something I regularly do. I use prints and posters to create a more colourful but subtle colour palette on the walls and often gravitate towards art that uses pastel neon colour palettes.


A few of my favourite artists who sell prints of their work include:


Katie Smith (ig: @_katiesmith_illustration)

Brooke Armstrong (ig: @strong_design_co)

Lizi (Lizeok) (ig: @lizeok)




Decorative Mirrors


To me, mirrors have always just been a necessity to a room instead of a decorative, aesthetic item. Instead of buying one that compliments and suits the rest of my room, I just bought the largest one, usually with a basic white frame. However, after seeing numerous DIY mirror frames and fun ways to paint them on social media, I have developed a liking for them. Mirrors I especially like are those with wavy frames in block colours or those without a frame that are shaped in an unsymmetrical, soft-edged way resembling a paint splodge or perhaps a pond.



Source 1 2







Blurred Finishes


Matte surfaces that create a frosted or blurred look are something I love. The finish adds additional texture to a room and can be found in so many different areas of design, but my favourite is glass decorative items such as vases, paperweights as well as kitchenware items; bowls, glasses, plates and serving dishes. Coined under the term ‘Muted Sheen’, WGSN shows the relevance of these surfaces that create a soft and hazy look in their report: ‘Forecast Trends 2022’. (Read More Here)



Source 1



As more trends emerge, my favourites list will continue getting longer and longer but these were just a selection of my current interior favourites. Thanks for reading!


25 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page